‘Safety and approval management are interlinked and must be applied pragmatically.’

Dr Sonja-Lara Bepperling

Dr Sonja-Lara Bepperling

Senior expert, head of SAFETY department,
registered inspector for equivalent safety and risk assessment

  • Many years of experience in the preparation of system assessments and safety assessment reports
  • Highest expertise in risk analysis for the areas of ETCS and electronic interlocking
  • In-depth knowledge of safety and approval management

Contact Dr Sonja-Lara Bepperling at the Frankfurt office

Dr Sonja-Lara Bepperling is a senior expert and head of the SAFETY department at NEXTRAIL GmbH. For 15 years, she has been a proven expert in operational and technical risk analyses in the railway sector – in control and safety technology in particular. She possesses methodical expertise in risk and hazard analyses as well as in-depth knowledge of the processes involved in the approval processes. Her expertise is based on a wealth of experience from the operational, manufacturing and advisory side, including with the assessment body, at DB Netz AG as a system expert and at Ernst Basler + Partner AG as a project manager in the security division, among others. She made a name for herself in the industry years ago as the author of the ETCS Level 2 risk analysis and the NeuPro electronic interlocking risk analysis.

Dr Sonja-Lara Bepperling holds a civil engineering degree from TU Braunschweig (Brunswick technical university) and a Master of Science in Transportation and Highway Engineering from the University of Rhode Island. In her 2009 dissertation at TU Braunschweig, she describes the further development and validation of a semi-quantitative method for risk analysis (BP risk), for which the general requirements of European standards (50126) and European legislation (CSM-RA Regulation) were adapted to specific products. She was a lecturer at ETH Zurich, where she also coached doctoral students.

Since 2022, Dr Sonja-Lara Bepperling has been a recognised registered inspector for certifying at-minimum equivalent safety (PSV-GS) and for explicit risk assessments (PSV-RA) in the event of non-significant changes in accordance with the German ordinance on registered inspectors in the railway sector for the specialist area of signal, telecommunication and electrotechnical facilities. She is also an EBO railway operations officer for managers and supervisors.

Dr Sonja-Lara Bepperling has been training CSM-RA assessments and risk analyses for years. She is also a member of the DKE working group on semi-quantitative methods for risk analysis of technical functions in railway signalling technology VDE V 0831.

Contact Dr Sonja-Lara Bepperling at the Frankfurt office

Personal project references for Dr Sonja-Lara Bepperling

Focus of the service areas

Safety management

In the area of safety management, our portfolio includes risk and hazard analyses, CSM analyses, safety plans and safety certificates.

Go to page

„Safety- und Zulassungsmanagement greifen ineinander und müssen pragmatisch angewandt werden.“

Dr. Sonja-Lara Bepperling

Dr. Sonja-Lara Bepperling

Senior Expert, Fachbereichsleiterin SAFETY,
Prüfsachverständige Gleiche Sicherheit, Risikoabschätzung

  • Langjährige Erfahrung in der Erstellung von Systemgutachten und Sicherheitsbewertungsberichten
  • Höchste Expertise bei der Risikoanalyse für die Bereiche ETCS und ESTW
  • Tiefe Kenntnis in den Bereichen Safety- und Zulassungsmanagement

Kontakt zu Dr. Sonja-Lara Bepperling im Office Frankfurt am Main

Dr. Sonja-Lara Bepperling ist Senior Expert und Fachbereichsleiterin SAFETY bei der NEXTRAIL GmbH. Seit 15 Jahren ist sie ausgewiesene Expertin für betriebliche und technische Risikoanalysen im Eisenbahnbereich, insbesondere für Leit- und Sicherungstechnik. Sie verfügt über methodisches Know-how zu Risiko- und Gefährdungsanalysen sowie tiefe Kenntnisse zu den Abläufen in den Zulassungsprozessen. Ihre Expertise stützt sich auf ihren hohen Erfahrungsschatz sowohl auf Seiten von Betreibern, Herstellern als auch Gutachtern, unter anderem beim AsBo, als Systemgutachterin der DB Netz AG, sowie als Projektleiterin im Geschäftsbereich Sicherheit bei der Ernst Basler + Partner AG. In der Branche hat sie sich als Autorin der Risikoanalyse ETCS L2 und der Risikoanalyse ESTW-NeuPro bereits vor Jahren einen Namen gemacht.

Dr. Sonja-Lara Bepperling besitzt den Diplom-Ingenieur (Bauingenieurwesen) der Technischen Universität Braunschweig und den Master of Science Transportation and Highway Engineering der University of Rhode Island. In ihrer Dissertation aus dem Jahre 2009 an der TU Braunschweig beschreibt sie die Weiterentwicklung und Validierung einer semi-quantitativen Methode zur Risikoanalyse (BP-Risk), für das die allgemein gehaltenen Vorgaben der europäischen Normen (50126) und der europäischen Gesetzgebung (CSM-RA Verordnung) produktspezifisch angepasst wurden. Sie war Dozentin an der  Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule Zürich und übernahm in dieser Tätigkeit auch das Coaching von Doktoranden.

Seit 2022 ist Dr. Sonja-Lara Bepperling anerkannte Prüfsachverständige für den Nachweis mindestens gleicher Sicherheit (PSV-GS) und für explizite Risikoabschätzungen (PSV-RA) bei nicht signifikanten Änderungen gemäß der Verordnung über Prüfsachverständige im Eisenbahnbereich für das Fachgebiet der STE-Anlagen. Sie ist außerdem Eisenbahn-Betriebsbeamtin nach EBO für Leitende und Aufsichtsführende.

Seit Jahren gibt Dr. Sonja-Lara Bepperling Schulungen für CSM-RA Bewertungen und Risikoanalysen. Außerdem ist sie Mitglied im DKE Arbeitskreis zu „semi-quantitativen“ Methoden für die Risikoanalysen technischer Funktionen in der Eisenbahnsignaltechnik VDE V 0831.

Kontakt zu Dr. Sonja-Lara Bepperling im Office Frankfurt

Persönliche Projektreferenzen von Dr. Sonja-Lara Bepperling

Schwerpunkt in den Leistungsbereichen​

Safety Management

Im Bereich Sicherheitsmanagement gehören zu unserem Portfolio Risiko- und Gefährdungsanalysen, CSM-Analysen, Sicherheitspläne und Sicherheitsnachweise.

zur Seite