‘Think integrated data management and system development from the outset.’

Dr Benedikt Wenzel

Dr Benedikt Wenzel

Senior expert, head of the DATA department

  • Many years of experience in collecting, processing and validating infrastructure data
  • Trade-spanning expertise in the fields of ETCS, RAMS/CENELEC and digitisation
  • High level of expertise in project handling at the national and international level

Contact Dr Benedikt Wenzel at the Berlin office

Dr Benedikt Wenzel is a senior expert and head of the data management department and system/RAMS engineering department at NEXTRAIL GmbH in accordance with EN 5012x. He has over ten years of experience in the fields of European Train Control System (ETCS) and safety. He is also a specialist in data management, including recording, processing and validation. Prior to joining NEXTRAIL as a senior consultant, he worked as a team and project manager for successful ETCS projects for leading railway operators at one of Germany’s largest engineering companies. His current projects focus on the intelligent digitisation of planning and testing processes as well as the distribution of data to track and on-board systems.

For his dissertation, ‘Development of a new validation approach for ETCS message data’, Dr Benedikt Wenzel received a doctorate in engineering from TU Dresden in 2013. Already in his diploma thesis entitled ‘Conception and Development of an ETCS database on the example of Saudi Railways Organization (SRO)’, he dealt deeply with the topic of the advancing the digitisation of railways.

As a research assistant and doctoral student, he was also responsible for collaborative research projects at TU Dresden, where he lectured in the field of ETCS and (semi-)formal methods in system development. He has also played an active role in the development of software for the validation of ETCS planning data using measurement data, among other things.

Contact Dr Benedikt Wenzel at the Berlin office

Personal project references for Dr Benedikt Wenzel

Focus of the service areas

Data management

We advise you on the development and establishment of digital processes and a suitable data management system. Get in touch with us!

Go to page

„Data Management und Systementwicklung von Beginn an integriert denken.“

Dr.-Ing. Benedikt Wenzel

Dr.-Ing. Benedikt Wenzel

Senior Expert, Fachbereichsleiter DATA

  • Langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich Erfassung, Verarbeitung und Validierung von Infrastrukturdaten
  • Gewerkeübergreifendes Expertenwissen in den Bereichen ETCS, RAMS/CENELEC und Digitalisierung
  • Hohe Expertise im Projekthandling auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene

Kontakt zu Dr.-Ing. Benedikt Wenzel im Office Berlin

Dr.-Ing. Benedikt Wenzel ist Senior Expert und Fachbereichsleiter für Data Management und System/RAMS Engineering entsprechend der EN 5012x bei der NEXTRAIL GmbH. Er verfügt über mehr als zehn Jahre Erfahrung in den Bereichen European Train Control System (ETCS) und Safety. Zudem ist er Spezialist für das Thema Datenmanagement inklusive Erfassung, Verarbeitung und Validierung. Vor seiner Tätigkeit als Seniorberater bei NEXTRAIL war er bei einer der größten deutschen Ingenieurgesellschaften als Team- und Projektleiter für erfolgreiche ETCS-Projekte führender Bahnbetreiber tätig. Der Fokus seiner aktuellen Projekte liegt auf der intelligenten Digitalisierung von Planungs- und Prüfprozessen sowie der Datenverteilung zu strecken- und fahrzeugseitigen Systemen.

Für seine Dissertation „Development of a new validation approach for ETCS message data“ erhielt Dr.-Ing. Benedikt Wenzel 2013 den Doktor Ingenieur an der TU Dresden. Bereits in seiner Diplomarbeit mit dem Titel „Conception and Development of an ETCS database on the example of Saudi Railways Organization (SRO)“ setzte er sich profund mit dem Thema der fortschreitenden Digitalisierung der Bahn auseinander.

Als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Doktorand war er als Projektleiter für Verbund-Forschungsprojekte der TU Dresden mit verantwortlich und dozierte dort im Bereich ETCS sowie den (semi-)formalen Methoden in der Systementwicklung. Darüber hinaus hat er an der Softwareentwicklung zur Validierung von ETCS-Projektierungsdaten u.a. anhand von Messdaten aktiv mitgewirkt.

Kontakt zu Dr.-Ing. Benedikt Wenzel im Office Berlin

Persönliche Projektreferenzen von Dr.-Ing. Benedikt Wenzel

Schwerpunkt in den Leistungsbereichen​

Data Management

Wir beraten Sie bei der Entwicklung und Etablierung digitaler Prozesse und ein dafür geeignetes Data Management. Kontaktieren Sie uns!

zur Seite