Expert knowledge that sets the course for success

Get to know our leading experts in our departments.

The managers, experts and teams at NEXTRAIL work closely together to implement projects across departmental boundaries to solve even the most complex tasks quickly and efficiently with agile processes.

'16

NEXTRAIL was founded in 2016 to provide national and international railway operators and manufacturers with the highest level of expertise. With a team of proven experts who, based on their many years of experience, are able to deliver intelligent, practical results in a targeted manner. Not complicated – but client-oriented and smart.

50+

Brilliant minds and motivated employees are the secret of our success. Today at NEXTRAIL, a well-coordinated interdisciplinary team of over 50 employees advises renowned national and international operators and manufacturers in the railway sector on the analysis, design, implementation, migration and commissioning of their systems – competent across all technical domains

6

Because customer proximity is a key factor for NEXTRAIL – even in an increasingly digital world – we now have six locations in Germany, Austria and Switzerland.

Decision makers in the railway sector and their teams rely on NEXTRAIL’s partnership-based cooperation and interdisciplinary expertise to help them set the course for their projects. With its comprehensive technical and process know-how as well as system knowledge spanning many applications, NEXTRAIL is present where the future of railways is shaped sustainably.

 

Our practical, customer-specific solutions are based on a holistic view of the relationships between operations, technology and organisation.

Steffen Jurtz

Managing director

Berlin

Steffen Jurtz has been one of the managing directors of NEXTRAIL GmbH since 2017. His excellent reputation in the railway industry as a proven expert in the field of control and safety technology is based on his more than 25 years of professional experience as a consultant and partner for lighthouse projects in the area of control and safety technology for well-known railway operators and industry in Germany and abroad.

Dr Michael Leining

Managing director

Frankfurt am Main

Dr Michael Leining is the managing director of NEXTRAIL GmbH. As a driver of the digitisation of the railways, he works closely with pioneering thinkers, decision makers and committees in the railway sector, advising railway and infrastructure operators on technology and transformation projects at the national and international level.

Dr Albrecht Achilles

Senior expert, head of ATO/TMS department

Berlin

Dr Albrecht Achilles is a senior expert and head of the ATO/TMS department at NEXTRAIL GmbH. His broad specialist expertise is based on many years of experience as a technical consultant for control and safety technology, both on the operator and the manufacturer side. Dr Albrecht Achilles focuses on the technical area of the European Train Control System (ETCS), automatic train operation (ATO), traffic management systems (TMS) and signalling controlled warning systems (SCWS).

Dr Sonja-Lara Bepperling

Senior expert, head of the SAFETY department, registered inspector for equivalent safety and risk assessment

Frankfurt am Main

Dr Sonja-Lara Bepperling is a senior expert and head of the SAFETY department at NEXTRAIL GmbH. For 15 years, she has been a proven expert in operational and technical risk analyses in the railway sector – in control and safety technology in particular. She possesses methodical expertise in risk and hazard analyses as well as in-depth knowledge of the processes involved in the approval processes.

Picture of Marco Gerlach in front of the Nextrail lettering

Marco Gerlach

Senior expert, head of the Project Engineering department

Brunswick

Marco Gerlach is a senior expert and head of the Project Engineering department at NEXTRAIL GmbH. With over 20 years of professional experience on the manufacturing side, he has extensive operational and technical expertise in the railway sector as a consultant – in particular in the field of electronic interlocking with a focus on the German railway construction and operating regulation (EBO), the German tram construction and operating regulation (BOStrab) and control–command and signalling systems (CCS).

Picture of Benedikt Wenzel in front of the Nextrail lettering

Dr Benedikt Wenzel

Senior expert, head of the DATA department

Berlin

Dr Benedikt Wenzel is a senior expert and head of the data management department and system/RAMS engineering department at NEXTRAIL GmbH in accordance with EN 5012x. He has over ten years of experience in the fields of European Train Control System (ETCS) and safety. He is also a specialist in data management, including recording, processing and validation.
Picture of Joerg Liesche in front of the Nextrail lettering

Jörg Liesche

Principal for train control systems

Berlin

Jörg Liesche is the principal for train control systems at NEXTRAIL GmbH. With over 25 years of professional experience on the manufacturer side and as a consultant, he has extensive operational and technical expertise – particularly in the area of ETCS and the interfaces to adjacent systems.

NEX_ChristianKlier_BILDER_I_220615

Christian Klier

Senior expert, ATO department

Berlin

Christian Klier is a senior expert in the ATO and ATO sensor technology department at NEXTRAIL GmbH. As a project manager and specialist for automatic train operation and with over 15 years of professional experience in the industry, he has extensive technical expertise both in the field of product development and interdisciplinary system integration.

Expertenwissen das die Weichen auf Erfolg stellt

Lernen Sie unsere führenden Experten aus den Fachbereichen kennen.

Führungskräfte, Experten und die Teams bei NEXTRAIL arbeiten bei der Umsetzung ihrer Projekte über Fachbereichsgrenzen hinweg eng zusammen – um in agilen Prozessen selbst komplexeste Aufgabenstellungen schnell und effizient zu lösen.

'16

NEXTRAIL wurde 2016 mit dem Ziel gegründet, nationale und internationale Betreiber und Hersteller im Bahnsektor mit höchster Expertise zu beraten. Mit einem Team ausgewiesener Experten, die auf Basis ihrer jahrelangen Erfahrung in der Lage sind, zielgerichtet intelligente, praxisnahe Resultate zu liefern. Nicht kompliziert – sondern kundenorientiert und smart.

50+

Intelligente Köpfe und motivierte Mitarbeitende sind das Geheimnis unseres Erfolgs. Heute berät bei NEXTRAIL ein eingespieltes interdisziplinäres Team aus über 50 Mitarbeitenden renommierte nationale und internationale Betreiber und Hersteller im Bahnsektor bei der Analyse, Konzeption, Implementierung, Migration und Inbetriebnahme Ihrer Systeme –

gewerkeübergreifend und kompetent

6

Weil Kundennähe für NEXTRAIL auch in einer zunehmend digitaleren Welt ein wesentlicher Faktor ist, finden Sie uns heute an 6 Standorten in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz.

Entscheider im Bahnsektor und ihre Teams setzen bei den entscheidenden Weichenstellungen in Ihren Projekten auf die partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und gewerkeübergreifende Expertise von NEXTRAIL. Mit umfassendem technischem und prozessualem Know-how sowie anwendungsübergreifenden Systemwissen ist NEXTRAIL präsent, wo die Zukunft der Bahn nachhaltig gestaltet wird.

 

Unsere praxisnahen, kundenspezifischen Lösungen basieren dabei auf einer ganzheitlichen Betrachtung des Spannungsfeldes zwischen Betrieb, Technik und Organisation.

Dipl.-Ing. Steffen Jurtz

Geschäftsführer

Berlin

Steffen Jurtz ist seit 2017 einer der Geschäftsführer der NEXTRAIL GmbH. Sein hohes Renommee in der Bahnbranche als ausgewiesener Experte im Bereich Leit- und Sicherungstechnik stützt sich auf seine über 25-jährige Berufserfahrung als Begleiter und Berater von LST-Leuchtturm-Projekten namhafter Bahnbetreiber und der Industrie im nationalen und internationalen Raum.

Dr. Michael Leining

Geschäftsführer

Frankfurt am Main

Dr. Michael Leining ist Geschäftsführer der NEXTRAIL GmbH. Als Treiber der Digitalisierung der Schiene eng mit den Vordenkern, Entscheidern und Gremien im Bahnsektor vernetzt, berät er Bahn- und Infrastrukturbetreiber in Technologie- und Transformationsprojekten auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene.

Dr.-Ing. Albrecht Achilles

Senior Expert, Fachbereichsleiter ATO, TMS, Test and System Integration

Berlin

Dr.-Ing. Albrecht Achilles ist Senior Expert und Fachbereichsleiter für ATO/TMS bei der NEXTRAIL GmbH. Seine breite Fachexpertise basiert auf langjähriger Erfahrung als technischer Berater für Leit- und Sicherungstechnik, sowohl auf Betreiber- wie auch auf Herstellerseite. Der Kompetenzschwerpunkt von Dr.-Ing. Albrecht Achilles liegt im Technologiebereich von European Train Control System (ETCS), Automatic Train Operation (ATO), Traffic Management System (TMS) sowie Signalling Controlled Warning System (SCWS).

Dr. Sonja-Lara Bepperling

Senior Expert, Fachbereichsleiterin SAFETY, Prüfsachverständige Gleiche Sicherheit, Risikoabschätzung

Frankfurt am Main

Dr. Sonja-Lara Bepperling ist Senior Expert und Fachbereichsleiterin SAFETY bei der NEXTRAIL GmbH. Seit 15 Jahren ist sie ausgewiesene Expertin für betriebliche und technische Risikoanalysen im Eisenbahnbereich, insbesondere für Leit- und Sicherungstechnik. Sie verfügt über methodisches Know-how zu Risiko- und Gefährdungsanalysen sowie tiefe Kenntnisse zu den Abläufen in den Zulassungsprozessen.

Bild von Marco Gerlach vor dem Nextrail Schriftzug

Dipl.-Wirtsch.-Ing. Marco Gerlach

Senior Expert, Fachbereichsleiter Project Engineering

Braunschweig

Marco Gerlach ist Senior Expert und Fachbereichsleiter PE bei der NEXTRAIL GmbH. Mit über 20 Jahren Berufserfahrung auf Herstellerseite verfügt er als Berater über ein umfassendes betriebliches und technisches Expertenwissen im Bahnsektor – insbesondere im Bereich elektronisches Stellwerk (ESTW) mit den Schwerpunkten auf der Eisenbahn-Bau- und Betriebsordnung (EBO), der Straßenbahn-Bau- und Betriebsordnung (BOStrab), sowie der Zugsicherungs-, Zugsteuerungs-, Signalgebungssyteme (ZZS).

Bild von Benedikt Wenzelvor dem Nextrail Schriftzug

Dr.-Ing. Benedikt Wenzel

Senior Expert, Fachbereichsleiter DATA

Berlin

Dr.-Ing. Benedikt Wenzel ist Senior Expert und Fachbereichsleiter für Data Management und System/RAMS Engineering entsprechend der EN 5012x bei der NEXTRAIL GmbH. Er verfügt über mehr als zehn Jahre Erfahrung in den Bereichen European Train Control System (ETCS) und Safety. Zudem ist er Spezialist für das Thema Datenmanagement inklusive Erfassung, Verarbeitung und Validierung.
Bild von Joerg Liesche vor dem Nextrail Schriftzug

Dipl.-Ing. Jörg Liesche

Principal Zugsicherungssysteme

Berlin

Jörg Liesche ist Principal Zugsicherungssysteme bei der NEXTRAIL GmbH. Mit über 25 Jahren Berufserfahrung auf Herstellerseite und als Berater verfügt er über ein umfassendes betriebliches und technisches Expertenwissen – insbesondere im Bereich ETCS und den Schnittstellen zu angrenzenden Systemen.

NEX_ChristianKlier_BILDER_I_220615

Dipl.-Inform. (FH) Christian Klier

Senior Expert, Fachbereich ATO

Berlin

Christian Klier ist Senior Expert im Fachbereich ATO & ATO-Sensorik bei der NEXTRAIL GmbH. Mit über 15 Jahren Berufserfahrung in der Industrie verfügt er als Projektleiter und Spezialist für Automatic Train Operation über umfassendes technisches Expertenwissen sowohl im Bereich der Produktentwicklung als auch in der gewerkeübergreifenden Systemintegration.

Gremien und Initiativen die wir unterstützen

Services

Das gesamte Prozess Know-how. Intelligent aus einer Hand.

Effektiver Wissenstransfer, verschlankte Prozesse und schneller Zugriff auf tiefgreifende Fachexpertise. Durch agile Strukturen und erfahrene Bahnexperten aus den unterschiedlichsten Fachbereichen ist NEXTRAIL in der Lage, alle Phasen des Produktlebenszyklus von Systemen der Eisenbahnsignaltechnik nahtlos abzudecken.